MIND AND MOTION

EDITION #2

MIND AND MOTION
(In place of Health and Wellness)
EDITION #2

MIND AND MOTION
WHAT IS YOUR PURPOSE?

Tenet - Christopher Nolan

What is at the base of what you do? As an actor this is a part of every character I step into, my very first job is to find what is at the root of who these people are, what drives them, or what brings fear to them. When I get a sense of what that is, I then can step into a new circumstance informed of the fundamental principles that person has, and act accordingly.

So who are you? What is at the base of you? There is a journey within the self that is important to take, one to discover this part. Thereā€™s a base human emotion, either a need base or a fear base within the self. If you donā€™t like what you find, itā€™s our primary responsibility to simply become conscious of this, then we can work to create change within the self. Leading us into Purpose.

Your purpose is a movement that is deep within you, a stirring, and a reason to stir from the slumber of the night before. The level at which you are conscious of this purpose is the level at which you allow that stirring to grow. Intrinsic motivation is a boundless, endless vessel of inspiration. Which is far more suggested than extrinsic motivation.

The path to discovery starts with asking WHY.

The ability to put a WHY into words provides the emotional context for decisions.

Simon Sinek

GUIDE POST šŸŖ§
ASKING WHY

Aftersun - Charlotte Wells

Start by finding something that you really enjoy doing. If you say you donā€™t ā€œreallyā€ enjoy anything, find the thing that you tend to spend time around. What do you surround yourself with? What hobbies do you spend time on? Film, TV, and trash TV included. Ask why you spend time on these things, and keep getting a level deeper if you can, sometimes you might hit the nail on the head with only two levels of questioning.

The deeper and deeper you go, you begin to find a base human emotion, one that can, I believe transform if youā€™d like it to, but one that can also be utilized as a strength to how you enter into your daily life. You can take your self and you can utilize these strengths to make a change within the world, and you now have a purpose. One that can drive you to new and dramatic heights in the work that you do, and the life that you live.

Guided questioning.

-What is something I enjoy doing?

-Why? (Times however many times you need)

-What do I desire, or fear?

-The need to ____. (OR) The Fear of ____

-How could I use this to create change within myself and the world?

This can start as the seed planted for a new purpose within yourself.

EXAMPLE:

-I love acting.

-Why?

-I love the exploration of character.

-Why?

-I enjoy being someone or something else, I feel I discover different aspects of the self because of it.

-Why?

-Because even from when I remember I was someone different every single day to each and every person.

-Why?

-Because my fatherā€™s bipolar disorder forced me into a chameleon-like survival. Each time he came home I had to adapt.

-Why?

-Because I wanted the entire family to be happy. Them being happy meant the environment was ā€œrightā€ and I was affirmed in my work.

-Why?

-Because I wanted a constant form of feedback that what I was doing was ā€œrightā€, a need for approval.

A need for approval

-How can I use this to create change within myself?

Well, there are a lot of skills that are found within this questioning, but my need for approval should be utilized, not in exorbitance, but for a continued desire for quality, kindness, joy, and collaborative spirit. To help transform this world by leading people to answers maintaining a foundation of autonomous and unique ability, while holding a foundation of the collective.

MY TRAINING
WHAT Iā€™M WORKING ON

Creed - Ryan Coogler

TRAINING - GOALS

THE BIG FOUR LIFTS:
-Bench Press: 165lbs ā†’ GOALĀ 225lbsĀ 
-Dead Lift: 315lbs ā†’ GOALĀ 405lbs
-Squat: 275lbs ā†’ GOALĀ 365lbs
-Shoulder Press: 95lbs ā†’ GOALĀ 180lbs

MOVEMENT
The gym has been at a consistent 4-5 days/wk aiming for 4 days/wk:

  1. Push

  2. Pull

  3. Legs

  4. Accessory

Running has been 3 miles/wk ā†’ GOALĀ 10 miles/wk

-Iā€™ve signed up for my marathon!! The race is on October 20 2024 in Columbus Ohio!

PRODUCTIVITY

Spring cleaning has NOT happened, some things, good things, have popped up, so I cannot be mad when a new priority enters in.

MENTAL

Thereā€™s an infinite amount of ā€œwhat elseā€ in the world. Every article I finish writing is going to be followed by ā€œwhat nextā€ and thereā€™s no end to it. I am currently working on showing up and doing the best that I possibly can and developing the priority first.

MY CURIOSITY
TO SHARE WHAT Iā€™M CURIOUS OF

Much love today and every day,
Matt Piper šŸ…šŸŒ±ā™Šļø

Join the conversation

or to participate.